1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TESOL or CELTA? I want to teach in Thailand.

Discussion in 'Qualifications & Courses' started by Mr 1984, 5 Jan 2017.

1. Mr 1984

Mr 1984 Thread Starter New Member

Hi, I'm looking for advice from people in the know.

Basically I'm looking to move over to Bangkok and Teach. In terms of qualifications I have a BA and a masters degree. 4 years of uni study in total. I have 2 years experience of teaching conversational English, mostly to adults but also children in Japan although this was approximately 10 years ago. In now in my 30's and worked in a professional capacity for the last 8 years but not as a teacher. I have no formal teaching qualifications at present.

Now as I understand it, I require a tefl qualification to teach in Thailand (visa requirements etc). Having looked online it seems to me that it's best to have either a CELTA or TESOL qualification as these would maximise my income potential rather than no qualification or a tefl taught online. Can someone advise me which qualification is best in terms of salary? I'm edging towards the CELTA at present as if prefer to teach adults.

In addition, would you recommend enrolling in either a CELTA or TESOL course in Bangkok and then searching for a job. Some schools I've seen guarantee a job although I'm skeptical about them guaranteeing this. The cost also seems to be approximately $1,500 for a four week course, a little pricey but it seems necessary if I'm going to get a good job.

Finally, could you advice me what I could expect to earn having a MA, CELTA or TESOL qualification and two years experience.

Many thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any advice given.

2. Stamp

Stamp Administrator Staff Member

:welcome2

A TEFL, TESOL, CELTA or similar certificate is not a requirement to teach in Thailand.