1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Teaching Science

Discussion in 'Science' started by NODIIT, 5 Jul 2012.

1. NODIIT

NODIIT Thread Starter Well-Known Member

I feel like po3try get the point here: teaching Science in English is all about teaching "Big Bad Word" and a little bit of the concept hidden behind it.

Personally, as a secondary teacher, I do not spend too much time simplifying lessons (they are already simplified in the book I'm using now).

Most of the time I instead try to find many different way to explain a concept and them I repeat, repeat and repeat again.

Sometimes, one of these explanations reach the long-term memory part of my student's cortex.
    But I'm not really that good at aiming and most of the time they remember it one hour and then it's gone :smile2: ...

2. ramses

ramses Well-Known Member

I teach science to kids from k1 - p2. and the books I use are ridiculous. the k2 students are supposed to learn the composition of the inner and out belt planets in the solar system, and the p1 kids are supposed to learn the hydrological cycle. umm, right.

I tend to let my kids experiment more and I don't worry too much about the big bad words in the book. I figure if the activities make an impression on the kids they will want to know the name for what they are doing, and once they learn it, they are less apt to forget.

having said that, i envy no-one who teaches science to teenagers.

3. crew

crew Faber College Member

i used to teach science in an EP. i always figured i was teaching english through science.

no books. no materials. only an incomprehensible curriculum and no one looking over my shoulder. that is until the director of EP would inevitably tell me to make my exams easier.

4. r.a.s.n

r.a.s.n New Member