1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My WP expired yesterday

Discussion in 'Work permits' started by Garden, 18 Jul 2014.

1. Garden

Garden Thread Starter Much ado about nothing

Dear Forum,

Could you explain how the WP relates to my visa? Maybe ELI5 style (explain like I'm five), so popular on reddit.com

Since my work permit is now expired, does that mean I WORK illegally or does it mean I STAY illegally in Thailand , or perhaps both?
    My visa does not expire for a couple of months.

I have very little knowledge about *what to do or expect next*, because I am working at the same school for more than four years. Therefore, I never needed to question any of this. It was all taken care of, as it should be.

I've heard the laws became tougher the last few month.

The way my current situation came about is, that I am transferring schools this July, but apparently the paperwork isn't quite done yet.

Cheers,
    Heiko

2. Stamp

Stamp Administrator Staff Member

Dear Heiko. The important question before a good answer is possible - what kind of visa/ extension of the permission of stay do you have?

• type of permission of stay
    • expiration of permission of stay
    • expiration of the work permit
    • married to a Thai national or not?

3. Garden

Dear Stamp,

thanks for looking into this.

1. If I look at my passport, my visa is good until October. It is the regular year-to-year visa.
    2. It don't have an extension of a permission to stay, but I heard my future employer is working on this. It is not in my passport, though.
    3. Expiration of work permit was July-17
    4. Not married

So what does it all mean?

4. Stamp

I really don't understand. Visa is good until October? Year-to-year? No extension of stay?

What's your work permit based on then?

5. Makaveli

Makaveli aka 2Pac Staff Member