1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is anyone using a mobile hotspot?

Discussion in 'Computers and Electronics' started by Clown, 24 Sep 2016.

  1. Clown

    Clown Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    73
  2. Stamp

    Stamp Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    What do you want to do with it? I use my mobile phone as hotspot for my laptop and iPad.

    If you really need one, why not a 4G/ LTE capable one?
     
    Last edited: 24 Sep 2016
  3. Wangsuda

    Wangsuda Nonentity Staff Member

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    377
    Exactly. I often use my LTE phone as a hotspot. Much faster than ADSL and basic fiber.
     
  4. chuachinsoon

    chuachinsoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    164
    I use my phone(DTAC) as a hotspot. It's 299 baht a month for 2.5 GB of data.
     
  5. sirchai

    sirchai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    478
    Reading that I really have to start to look into using my phone as a hot spot. Once the school's doors are closed i will.
     
  6. Tonyja

    Tonyja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    214
    Ive got a 4" Lava phone cost 2200, does all and great hotspot... as mentioned above just 299 a month for 2.5gb on dtac. I think 799 gets you 12gb or something.
     
    Clown likes this.
  7. Wangsuda

    Wangsuda Nonentity Staff Member

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    377
    I received a promotion from DTAC - 699/month for 20 gig. I am done with "wireless," "ADSL," and "fiber."
     
  8. Tonyja

    Tonyja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    214
    Right. I get really good top-up's too when it runs out: 3gb extra for 59 baht
     
    Clown likes this.
  9. DigitalGypsy

    DigitalGypsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi Wangsuda,

    Is that on contract or '711 top-up anytime'? I'm on the latter and I pay about 900 baht a month for 12gigs.

    DG
     
  10. Wangsuda

    Wangsuda Nonentity Staff Member

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    377
    I have no contract, but I am on post pay. I haven't done top up cards in years LOL Anyway, my plan covers 20 gig of LTE, free DTAC wireless, and 300 minutes to any network in Thailand. I rarely call. I need the gigs.
     
  11. Stamp

    Stamp Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    Me too! PM sent as to where get them. :)
     
    Wangsuda likes this.
  12. Wangsuda

    Wangsuda Nonentity Staff Member

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    377
    Hmmmm...PM not received :(
     
    Stamp likes this.
  13. Stamp

    Stamp Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    IMG_0058.JPG
     
  14. Clown

    Clown Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    73
    Well, my I-Pad Mini is wifi only. Big drawback for someone who trades. (I was on a bus to Bangkok to speed up my Krusapha letter for the WP when the market tanked. That Friday cost me dearly as I was short.
     
  15. Clown

    Clown Thread Starter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    73
    Wifi is iffy @ work. Better in my digs. And TBH I never had a smartphone. There are Lumia 928 models said to be "mint" on Ebay for less than $ 50. Good camera...

    OT: Amazon doesn't ban crooks selling fake high spec memory sticks like "64 Gb", "128 GB"? These are 2 GB junk devices. Just wondering why they stay on the website.

    Got a 20 dB Cisco yagi antenna for 2.4 Ghz as my classroom has no wifi :hilarious. They put the router on the ground floor. :angry3 Ham radio operators build towers to increase the height of their antennas for a reason!
     

Share This Page