1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In a complete rut - M.Ed., PGCE, QTS, Middle East?

Discussion in 'Qualifications & Courses' started by JBauer, 3 Jan 2017.

1. JBauer

JBauer Thread Starter Member

I don't know what to do.

After completing a CELTA, I started out as your standard TEFLer in a government school. I realised after a while (probably too long a while) that I wouldn't get much out of it in the long run. I have since been working in an international school doing much the same thing as I did in the government school, but as I am no longer an English teacher (there are qualified teachers for that), I don't get to do much that I find particularly fulfilling, instead doing the usual present perfect-type stuff. As a local hire, and also not being a qualified teacher, I earn a salary which may be quite good for TEFL, but derisory for the qualified teachers there. The main reason I continue is for the education my kid receives, which has a monetary amount per year of more than what I earned as a TEFLer, let alone what I would have been able to pay.

Essentially, my problem is that I don't know what I can do to get myself to a higher level of salary. I know, no one got into teaching to get rich; however, it is important to have a salary you can plan for the future with. TEFL does not give this in Thailand ('legally' at the very least); my job now doesn't quite, either.

So, I don't know what to do next. I have finished a PGCE(i), which, though I received a distinction, I found quite emotionally taxing and expensive. I knew going in that the PGCE(i) would not attract QTS etc.; however, having now seen that it probably won't get me anything in terms of more money at all, in any position, I am (hopefully understandably) extremely nervous about doing any further courses which would cost a lot of money and provide little return on investment.